Buttermilk Biscuits: The Real Deal

2016 left a bad taste in my mouth. However, the new year is an opportunity to cut loose from negativity and move on to better things. You know what else leaves a bad taste in my mouth? McGriddles.

I love the concept of the McGriddle: a breakfast sandwich enclosed in syrup-y pancakes (made by McDonald’s). The syrup, however, is highly problematic: although the bursts of sugar are momentarily pleasant, the shame of fake maple syrup-consumption lingers for hours afterwards… and physically lingers as a nasty chemical film on my teeth until my next meal or teeth-brushing. Please tell me I’m not the only person who experiences the icky mouth-feeling? The shame part might be specific to my Vermont-roots!

For the sake of my maple-integrity, I’m taking matters into my own hands: I’m making my own breakfast sandwich! Yes, I know, this deviates from the McGriddle concept: we’re subbing in biscuits for pancakes and real maple syrup for fake. This is really a post about the most amazing buttermilk biscuits you could ever hope to sandwich an egg, sausage, and cheese between.

Don’t forget to slather it all in real maple syrup before serving! Research indicates that real maple syrup has several unique health benefits; check out a podcast episode that Gastropod recently did on the topic. So raise a glass of Vermont’s finest (which could arguably be either maple syrup or Ben & Jerry’s) to toast the new year! May it be filled with good (healthy?) food and happiness!

Biscuit Dough

Lard-Biscuits

 

Cooling-Rack-Biscuits
Check out those sea salt flakes!

*This recipe depends on high-quality, non-hydrogenated lard. Don’t even think about reaching for that box of hydrogenated nastiness in the baking aisle! Check out my post from last year to read more about the difference.


Recipe: Buttermilk (& Lard*) Biscuits

Inspired by Ree Drummond’s Self-Rising Biscuits


Ingredients 

2.5 cups buttermilk**

6 cups AP flour (900 grams)

3 tbs baking powder

1 tbs salt

3/4 cup (150 grams) lard*

**(or 2 and 1/3 cups milk with 3 tablespoons distilled white vinegar, let sit 10 minutes)


Directions

  • Sift together flour, baking powder, and salt.
  • Mix in lard: using a pastry blender or fingertips, incorporate into a crumbly mixture.
  • Add wet to dry ingredients and knead on floured surface, about 1 minute.
  • Roll out dough to 1/2″ thickness.
  • Use a cookie cutter to cut biscuits to desired shape. Place on baking sheet.
  • Preheat oven to 475° F. Bake for 10 minutes.
  • Brush tops with melted butter and top with fancy flaky salt (I use the Himalayan Pink Salt from Costco).

 

Leave a Reply

