CSA Week 4: Establishing a Weekly Rhythm

I think that we have a good rhythm down for dealing with the onslaught of vegetables that we receive every week. We use up the lettuce first because soggy salad is the worst. Root vegetables wait until the end of the week, since they can store for so long. Everything else gets cooked in between. Unfortunately, I was a bad person and threw one item out: the greens of last week’s kohlrabi; they were just so big and unappetizing-looking, and we were trying to find space in our refrigerator to store the next batch of CSA veggies. I won’t let it happen again!

Savoy Cabbage

Raw: as a salad

The leaves of savoy cabbage are far more tender than standard green and red cabbage varieties; for this reason, they are commonly employed in raw contexts (that aren’t just cole slaw).  Here’s a recipe from Provider Farm which I deemed to be OK, but I think I’ll still prefer my cabbage to be cooked in the future:

  • One small Chinese cabbage washed and chopped
  • 1/2 cup chopped kalamata olives
  • 1/2 cup grated gruyere or parmesan cheese
  • red wine vinegar to taste
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped

Cooked: in 牛肉麵 (Niu Rou Mian)

牛肉麵 (beef noodle soup) is the national dish of Taiwan and a favorite dinner in the Yeh household! We’ll be using the second half of our cabbage head in the broth of our next batch of beefy goodness, due to hit the table tomorrow night.

Savoy Cabbage Head

 

Snap Peas

These snap peas are particularly snappy in texture, so I’ve been eating them straight up! I’ll be whipping up a sauté of snap peas, onions, carrots, and shrimp to use up the rest of these.

Snap Peas

 

Cilantro

This innocent-looking leafy herb is shockingly polarizing: you either love it or you hate it. This phenomenon was investigated by my favorite podcast: Gastropod, which dedicated an entire episode to this topic (The Good, The Bad, The Cilantro). I am someone who has stood on both sides of the divide… I believe that Pho (Vietnamese beef noodle soup) is what converted me to the camp of cilantro-lovers only a few years ago!

Cilantro

Yesterday I made a hash of potatoes and sweet potatoes (also from the CSA), cooked with beans, and topped with an avocado-cilantro-sour cream sauce. This recipe is the bomb and I’d highly recommend that you make it for your next brunch!

Sweet Potato Hash Recipe with Creamy Avocado Sauce...120 calories and 3 Weight Watchers PP | cookincanuck.com #breakfast
Sweet Potato Hash Recipe With Creamy Avocado Sauce from Cookin Canuck

Rainbow Chard

After oggling over these gorgeous stalk colors for several minutes, I didn’t do anything too crazy with these greens: just a simple sauté in olive oil with garlic. This was a side dish that I served alongside San Bei Ji (Three cup chicken).

Rainbow Chard

Last week I mentioned that I might be making Chef Nobu’s take on a Japanese side-dish: Oshitashi. Well, I made it and it was great!

Swiss Chard Oshitashi

 

Scallions

If a blight were to destroy the world’s supply of scallions (a.k.a. green onions, a.k.a. spring onions), then I’m pretty sure that my husband would wither away into nothingness with them.

Scallions

Scallions have made an appearance almost every day in our cooking (so we are so pumped to have it in the CSA!), but here are a few examples:

  • Jimmy’s golden fried-rice (my husband will be posting about this soon).
  • A soup of hakurei turnips, shiitake mushrooms, soba noodles and tofu.
  • Scallion pancakes, pan-fried with an egg, to create a sort of Asian omelette.

 

Chez Yeh Brunch Table
Scallion pancakes (pan-fried with an egg) were the stars of our Saturday brunch, shared with a dear friend in NYC. Mango scones (pictured on the right) made an appearance as well! 

 

 

Leave a Reply

