Maple-Coconut Granola

Granola is expensive. I have a feeling that I’ll be starting many of my posts like this… but as stated in the About Me page, frugality is a major force in the Yeh house.

The way that I eat granola is especially expensive: instead of a dainty sprinking on top of my yogurt, I flip the ratio to make the granola the main event. Yogurt and fruit are merely accoutrements for the nutty-oaty-goodness that lies underneath. When writing the post on strawberry-rhubarb-maple compote, I actually bumped up the volume of yogurt and fruit for the main shot so it wouldn’t look so strange!

When I say granola, I’m not referring to oats that have the occasional nut thrown in; no, I need nuts to be like 1/3 of the total granola volume. Eating a premium store-bought granola for breakfast every morning, I estimate would come out to $14 per week. However, making my own granola with  nuts sourced from Costco, I easily support my granola habit with less than $5 per week.

Kirkland Signature Almonds

Granola Ingredients

I typically prepare a triple-sized batch of granola once every 3-ish weeks. This recipe, inspired by an Alton Brown recipe, is incredibly easy! Alton Brown got me on oats in the first place; in the Good Eats episode, “Oat Cuisine“, Alton expounds upon the health benefits of oats, which became especially relevant to his life following a heart attack. A quick google search reveals the following:

Oats are rich in a specific type of fiber called beta-glucan. This particular type of fiber is known to help lower levels of bad cholesterol. One cup (81g) of dry oats contains 8.2 grams of fiber, the recommended daily intake of fiber is 25g for women and 38g for men. Medical News Today

I enjoyed oatmeal before this revelation, but have made a point of consuming oats for breakfast almost every day since!

Cashews-Almonds-Pecans

Mini Cuisinart Food Processor
The only caveat for this recipe is that a food processor is almost required to chop up the cuts into small pieces. I suppose that you could throw the nuts in a zip-loc bag and smash the contents to smithereens. However, I’ve never had good luck keeping everything inside of pulverized bags and usually end up with floating plastic bits… yum.

 

Mini Cuisinart Food Processor & Hearing Protection
Chopping nuts in the food processor is noisy business! We keep hearing protection handy for times like this.

 

Maple-coconut granola closeup


Recipe: Granola

Inspired by Alton Brown’s Recipe


Ingredients

3 cups (270 grams) rolled oats

2 cups (about 270 grams) of your choice of nuts*

3/4 cup (180 grams) shredded sweet coconut

1/4 cup (90 grams) maple syrup

1/4 cup coconut oil (50 grams), melted in microwave

3/4 teaspoon salt

*I prefer equal proportions of cashews, almonds, and pecans.


Directions 

Preheat oven to 250 degrees F.

Pulverize nuts into small bits using a food processor.

Mix maple syrup, coconut oil, and salt together.

Mix dry ingredients (rolled oats, nuts, shredded coconut.

Combine wet & dry ingredients, mixing well.

Distribute mixture onto a baking sheet (I suggest lining with a silicon baking mat or parchment paper for easy removal later on).

Bake in oven for 1.25 hours (75 minutes), taking the tray out to stir granola every 15 minutes.


Serving Suggestions 

Eat with fruit and yogurt:

Use as a topping for baked desserts such as Apple crisp.

Add milk and eat like cereal!

Leave a Reply

