CSA Round-up: Weeks 2 & 3

It’s been a busy couple of weeks, so inspiration from my CSA basket is what has been keeping me going in the kitchen! My husband is the king of fresh hand-made pasta, so I’ve been able to focus on doing creative things with vegetables while he handles the rest of the meal. Here are the highlights of things that I’ve done/plan to do with our hauls from the past two weeks of the CSA.

Garlic Scapes

  • Made a scape pesto (Serious Eats) that was mixed with pasta, fresh mozzarella, and chunks of tomato.

Garlic Scapes

 

Beets

  • Sautéed the greens (allrecipes.com)… well, more like reds… with garlic and olive oil, and then tossed with cooked quinoa.
  • Oven-steamed the beetroots (Bon Appetit) to be added to a lettuce salad with pecans and a salad dressing that I made from sour cream, apple-cider vinegar, and dijon mustard.

 

Turnips

1. Bravo and Meat Turnips

  • Paired with potatoes to make a turnip-potato gratin (Epicurious). Improvements I would make to my first run of this dish are to thicken the sauce for longer, cut the turnips into thinner and smaller bits, and to not skimp on oven-time, since the end-result was not as tender as I would have liked. The turnips added an interesting pink and purple color to the sauce as well as a unique flavor that played well with the overall dish composition.

Bravo & Meat Turnip Cross-Sections

 

2. Hakurei Turnips

  • I’ll be making a soup that combines these turnips, bok choy, tofu, bone-in chicken thigh, and shiitake mushrooms, loosely following this recipe from Epicurious.

 

Swiss Chard

I’ve actually never cooked with swiss chard before, but I’ve gathered that these greens agree with several asian preparations.

  • Twice-Cooked Swiss Chard 回鍋牛皮菜(Hui Gua Niu Pi Cai) in chinese chili-bean paste (Epicurious).
  • Chef Nobu’s take on a Japanese side-dish: Oshitashi, which involves cooking the swiss chard, tossing it in soy sauce, and then topping with bonito flakes (Martha Stewart).

Swiss Chard

 

Radishes

  • I’ll be oven-roasting these with carrots and turmeric (Thank Your Body)… and maybe some bacon for good measure!

 

Mini Zucchini & Summer Squash

  • I could pair these with tomato and polenta (New York Times).
  • OR I might just roast them whole since they are so darn cute!

Mini Summer Squash and Zucchini

 

Kohlrabi

Finally, we have the notoriously strange root vegetable that all CSA-participants have probably puzzled over at some point. I have encountered Kohlrabi before, thanks to my first job in fine dining, but have never cooked with one myself. Here are a few of the options that I am considering:

  • Roast bulb and greens with lentils, mushrooms, and bacon/pancetta (Epicurious).
  • Persian Green Mung Bean and Kohlrabi Hearty Soup (Turmeric & Saffron).

 

Coming soon!

  • Another photo collaboration with Hannah Choi Photography is on it’s way!
  • The moment of truth approaches: I’ve been culturing kombucha for the past month with a Cultures for Health starter kit, so we’ll find out soon if it was a success!
  • This weekend I’m making my fortnightly-batch of granola, and will finally write down the recipe for the blog!
  • Exclamation points!!!

 

One thought on “CSA Round-up: Weeks 2 & 3

Leave a Reply

